MT ASPIRE Indian Advocacy Committee End of Year Report
September 23, 2004
Submitted By:  Angelina Levandowski, Committee Chair

In April, 2004 the Indian Advocacy Committee had two very productive meetings.  During the meetings we accomplished three main tasks.  The first item of business we accomplished was selecting a new chairperson.  Arleen Adams stepped down as chair of the committee earlier in the year.  The committee decided that Angelina Levandowski would chair the committee.

Secondly, the committee brainstormed a draft of a vision statement to define the purpose and duties of the committee.  Throughout the year the committee discussed and revised the statement through e-mail and will finalize the vision statement at the regional conference in Jackson Hole, WY.  Currently, the draft of the vision statement states:

“The diversity issues faced by Native Americans have not often been addressed within our mainstream communities.  The vision of the Indian Advocacy Committee (IAC) is to promote Native American awareness on higher education, governmental relations, sovereignty, Native American community building, tribal colleges, governance, curriculum development, and policy.  In addition, IAC hopes to build a bridge through resiliency awareness, networking and professional development, between Native American institutions and mainstream institutions.”

 

Thirdly, the committee would like to offer a professional development workshop at the next MT ASPIRE state meeting in April, 2005 addressing issues facing Native Americans involved in TRIO.  Finally, we would also like to communicate with legislators the impact TRIO programs have working with Native American students.

We will continue working on these projects at the regional ASPIRE meeting in Jackson Hole, WY.

Return to Top

Aspire 2003 Conference Indian Advocacy Committee Montana Region

The following is the email listing for those who participated in the “Indian Advocacy Committee” meeting on 9/30/03 at the ASPIRE conference in Grand Rapids, South Dakota.  This listing will be forwarded to the committee chair, Arleen Adams, who was unable to attend.  As stated in the meeting, Angelina will be contacting Arleen to set up regular communications among our committee.

Faith Price
SKC-ETS
Faith_price@skc.edu  
(406) 275-4872

Misty Salois
SKC-ETS
misty_salois@skc.edu
406-275-4871
Wallace Bear Chum
Cheyenne-ETS
cheyennearea@rangeweb.net
Candace Hubbard
Great Falls-SSS
Candacehubbard-chubbard@ugf.edu
Barb Anderson
Poplar-SSS
banderson@fpcc.edu 
Jewel Daschamp-Gopher
Great Falls-TS
jewel_g@hotmail.com 
Alan Thompson
MT Tech-UB
athompson@mtech.edu
Stacy Atkinson
Fort Peck-SSS
satkinson@fpcc.edu
Rosemary Hugs
SKC-UB
rosemaryhugs@yahoo.com
Sharon (Raelyn) Dumontier
SKC-UB

Sharon_dumontier@skc.edu
Rhonda Mason
Fort Peck-SSS
rmason@fpcc.edu 
Gretchen Brien
Crow-TS
gretchenbrien@yahoo.com
Annette Kankelborg
Butte-UB
akankelborg@mtech.edu
Jim Griffin
Butte-EOC
jgriffin@mtech.edu
Arleen Adams                                     
SKC-TRIO Training Institute
Arleen_adams@skc.edu                          
406-275-4751
Angelina Levandowski
Univ of MT-UB
Angelina.levandowski@umontana.edu

Print Friendly, PDF & Email