South Dakota ASPIRE State Business Meeting Minutes

September 30, 2019 1:00-2:00 pm Colorado Springs, CO

Call to Order: President Thomas Madut called the meeting to order at 1:12 pm.

Parliamentarian: Jennie Thompson was appointed Parliamentarian.

In attendance: Megan Taylor, Ranika Lewin, Kendall Sailer, Martha Miller, Zane Zephier, Vi Waln, Stacey Kappes, Chrissy Lesher, Laurie Johnson, Krista Bau, Jennie Thompson, Becky Jensen, Laci Hettick, Peggy Madrid, Jamie Boettcher, and Gary Wald.

There were no Minutes from the last State Meeting as Pam Berreth has resigned from her position with TRIO. Laci Hettick reported that we will be able to take care of approving these, once received, via email.

Election of Secretary/Treasurer: Peggy Madrid was appointed as Election Chair. Peggy Madrid nominated Martha Miller for Secretary/Treasurer, seconded by Stacey Kappes. Laci Hettick nominated Jennie Thompson for Secretary/Treasurer, seconded by Becky Jensen. Laurie Johnson moved that nominations be closed, seconded by Megan Taylor. Motion passed. Jennie Thompson and Martha Miller were invited to speak about why they are interested in the position. Martha Miller was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

Government Relations Committee Chair Laci Hettick reminded us about the importance of maintaining government relations with our senators and representative. There is a proposed bill: Expanding Disability Access to Higher Education Act. This would direct the Department of Education to carve \$50 million out of the underlying TRIO funding to fund supplemental grants to increase the number of students with disabilities served by TRIO. Since we already assist students with disabilities, this would put funding of many traditional TRIO grants into jeopardy. All members were encouraged to call Dusty Johnson, our representative, at the Capitol Switchboard (202) 224-3121. Laci also reminded us to try to celebrate First Generation College Student Day on November 9, 2019 and to save the date of February 29, 2020 to celebrate TRIO Day.

Becky Jensen, Chair of the Development Committee, who works to secure funds to support ASPIRE and COE, reported that she has reached out to SD program directors to renew ASPIRE program memberships. She also encouraged us to consider making a 10 for 10 personal contribution. If we reach our goal of 9 donations, our president will attend Policy Seminar in DC at no cost to SD ASPIRE.

Vanessa Ramirez from COE dropped in our meeting to wish us well. She also encouraged us to contact her with any questions.

The proposed budget was examined and there were questions about why the Fact Book was estimated at \$0. There has been no Fact Book published the past two years due to technical difficulties in 2018 and no information gathered in 2019. The Fact Book is an important tool to share with our legislators and there was consensus that it should be continued. Since we were running short on time, Chrissy Lesher moved that the budget discussion be tabled until our meeting on October 1, 2019. Stacey Kappes seconded and the motion carried.

Stacey Kappes moved that the meeting be adjourned. Gary Wald seconded and the meeting was adjourned.

Meeting resumed on Tuesday, October 1, 2019 1:30-2:30 pm Colorado Springs, CO

The meeting was called to order at 1:31 pm by President Thomas Madut. Parliamentarian: Jennie Thompson was again appointed Parliamentarian.

In attendance: Ranika Lewin, Kendall Sailer, Martha Miller, Vi Waln, Stacey Kappes, Chrissy Lesher, Laurie Johnson, Krista Bau, Jennie Thompson, Becky Jensen, Laci Hettick, Peggy Madrid, Jamie Boettcher, and Gary Wald.

Discussion about the budget continued. Krista Bau moved that we add \$450 to the proposed budget in the category of Fact Book and TRIO activity. Jennie Thompson seconded and the motion passed. Laci Hettick explained the Emerging Leadership Institute expense in the budget. Laci Hettick moved and Krista Bau seconded that the proposed budget be approved. The motion carried.

ASPIRE Co-state conference is scheduled for April 6-8, 2020 at the Ramkota in Aberdeen, SD. Becky Jensen and Hillary Robinson will be co-chairs for the convention. There may be a leadership training on Sunday April 5, but the first full day of the conference will be Tuesday. Other conference committee chairs are: Laci Hettick and Jennie Thompson - Agenda and Pre-Conference details, Krista Bau - Entertainment, and Martha Miller - Silent Auction. It was decided that we will honor the 2019 SD TRIO Achiever recipient, Dustin Schmidt, at the conference in Aberdeen along with the 2020 recipient.

Becky Jensen reported that we have met our goal of 9 personal donations for COE. Thomas Madut thanked Becky for her diligence in securing these funds.

Thomas Madut challenged all program directors to send one individual from each university to Policy Seminar March 22-25, 2020 in Washington, DC. He stated that better representation at Policy would be very beneficial for SD ASPIRE.

Laci Hettick attended the ASPIRE Leadership Institute earlier this week and shared her proposed goals as future President of SD ASPIRE:

- 1. Increase membership engagement by making committees operational and functional. These are the current committees:
 - Elections Committee-headed by the Past-President
 - TRIO Awareness Day
 - New Members Mentoring
 - Media Relations
 - Spring Conference Committee
 - Government Relations Committee

Laci plans to propose consolidations and revisions of these committees in our operating guidelines during our spring board meeting. She will also propose that we add the Social Justice Committee to our

operating guidelines. Hillary Robinson is interested in serving on either the TRIO Day or Social Justice Committee and Jennie Thompson is interested in serving on the Government Relations Committee. Laci asked each of us to consider where we would like to serve. We will discuss this further in April.

- 2. Establish state-wide advocacy initiatives:
 - Establish a state led TRIO Day Initiative for the 2021 TRIO Day celebration
- 3. Identify and cultivate new SD ASPIRE leadership
 - Partner with Emerging Leaders Development Program to ensure continuity of leadership in our state chapter.
 - There will be an election for the president-elect at the meeting in April.

Thomas Madut thanked SD ASPIRE for their support while he served as our president. He is proud that he was able to serve SD ASPIRE.

Laurie Johnson moved to adjourn the meeting. Gary Wald seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.