

Colorado • Montana • North Dakota • South Dakota • Utah • Wyoming

# ASPIRE BOARD MEETING October 18, 2017 Salt Lake City, Utah Submitted by Jami Bayles OFFICIAL MINUTES – APPROVED 1/18/2018

#### **IN ATTENDANCE OFFICERS**

Darlene Samson, President Cynthia Ayala, President-Elect Marilyn Thayer, Treasurer Jami Bayles, Secretary

#### STATE PRESIDENTS

Brandi Scott, Colorado State President Theresa Rader, Montana State President Dennis Stangl, North Dakota State President Thomas Madut, South Dakota President Rachel Lund, Utah State President Lori Brown-Wirth, Wyoming State President

#### ABSENT

Kyle Ethelbah, Past President

# CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order by Darlene Samson at 11:39am. Roll call was made and Jami Bayles was appointed Parliamentarian.

### Strategic Plan

Darlene Sampson stated discussed her strategic plan with the Board and briefly explained her vision for the upcoming year. One initiative includes providing more professional development and support to tribal colleges and other institutions with grant writing. Darlene will discuss other initiatives in more detail at the winter Board meeting. Darlene then discussed her role with the Council for Opportunity in Education and her responsibilities as a COE Board member.

### Committee Restructuring

Theresa Rader discussed the need for committees to be condensed or removed from the Operating Guidelines. Currently there are twenty different committees and Theresa has been working on a draft proposal condensing it down to eight. Theresa explained the need for some committees to be combined with other committees or removed completely. A final proposal will be brought to the Board and voted on at the winter Board meeting. In addition, Darlene asked that the Board review the draft proposal and think about what committee they would like to serve on based on their strengths and weaknesses.

#### Policies and Procedures

Darlene asked the Board to familiarize themselves with the Policies and Procedures as written in the Operating Guidelines. Packets were distributed to the new Board members which included a copy of the ASPIRE By-Laws. Jami Bayles and Theresa echoed Darlene's request and expressed the importance of understanding the information in both documents.

### Travel

Darlene reminded the Board about travel policies and explained the process for submitting reimbursements to the new Board members. She also relayed that John Shafer, outgoing Treasurer, has a firm deadline of December 20<sup>th</sup>, 2017 to resolve any region and state finances for the 2017 year.

## Winter Board Meeting

Recommendations for dates and locations for the winter Board meeting were discussed in detail.

# **ACTION ITEM**

Thomas Madut made a motion to hold the winter Board meeting in Salt Lake City on January 17-19, 2018. Lori Brown-Wirth seconded and the motion carried.

## Committee Report Submission

Darlene discussed the possible changes to documentation and submission for future state and committee reports. Dennis recommended using ASPIRE Workplace and explained the features of the program.

## Ethical Standards

Darlene distributed a copy of the ASPIRE Ethical Standards to the new Board members. She asked them to sign and return to Jami, who explained the process of going into Executive Session and the importance of maintaining a code of ethics during Board meetings.

# Regional Conference Expectations

Darlene explained that each region Board member is expected to contribute to the region conference by participating in a committee. She stated the Board that Peter Donaldson has been selected to serve as the 2018 Conference Chair which will be held in Missoula, Montana September 30 – October 3, 2018.

## State Meeting Dates

- Colorado and Wyoming will hold a joint conference in Fort Collins, Colorado on April 5-6, 2018.
- North Dakota and South Dakota will hold a joint conference in Sioux Falls, South Dakota on March 25-27, 2018.
- Montana's state meeting is TBA.
- Utah will hold their conference in Ogden, Utah on March 29-30, 2018.

### Fair Share Representatives

State Presidents reported the following individuals as state representatives for COE Fair Share. Colorado is Michelle Lopez; Montana is Dan Benge and Theresa Rader; North Dakota is Ben Shapiro and Dennis Stangl; South Dakota is Becky Jensen; Utah is Jami Bayles and Tami Shugart; and Wyoming is Brandi Roesener.

# GOOD OF THE ORDER

Theresa discussed the Spraggins Grant. She will continue to keep the Board updated on deadlines. Jami explained the process for any upcoming conference calls that states would like to hold and reminded the Board to notify the new Treasurer prior to the call. She also explained to the Board the expectation of contributing to ASPIRE Development and COE Fair Share through personal donations.

# MOTION TO ADJOURN

Jami made a motion to adjourn the ASPIRE Board meeting. Rachel seconded and the October 18, 2017 ASPIRE Board meeting was adjourned at 1:03pm.