The North Dakota Chapter of ASPIRE

North Dakota ASPIRE is a professional organization representing education professionals working in the 16 Federal TRIO programs in North Dakota. The mission of the Federal TRIO programs is to increase the number of first generation, low income students and adults who enter and complete post-secondary education.[

Cathleen Ruch
Cathleen RuchPresident
Student Support Services
Lake Region State College
Devils Lake, ND
Phillip Coghlan
Phillip CoghlanSecretary
Assistant Director
Upward Bound
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, ND

Brenda Knottestad
Brenda KnottestadTreasurer
Director Student Support Services
Welder Library 131
7500 University Drive
Bismarck, ND 58504


President serves an ex-officio on all committees

State Initiative Committee: Derek Sporbert, Phil Coghlan

Alumni Committee: Cathleen Ruch and Joan Jorde

Professional Development: Mary Jo Dailey, Dawn Eckhardt, Lori Mattison

ASPIRE & COE Development: Ben Shapiro

ASPIRE Governmental Relations: Ben Shapiro

ASPIRE Social Justice Committee rep for ND: Meghan Yerhot

Development Committee: – Vacant