ASPIRE - Promoting Education and Opportunity

Rising Star Award

Rising Stars are nominated by ASPIRE members. They are employees of TRIO or educational opportunity programs who have been in their position for two years or less and who have excel in providing services to programs and participants at the institutional, state, or regional levels.

2022 Rising Star

Dana Walford, Transfer Coordinator/Liberal Arts Advisor for TRIO – Student Support Services at Lake Region State College was recently awarded the Rising Star award at the regional Aspire Conference held in Jackson Hole, Wyoming.

Rising Star Award Winners

YearFirst NameLast NameInstitution
1986ChrisPrimusUniversity of Wyoming
1987BoniFullmerUniversity of Wyoming
1988ElaineMetcalfeUniversity of North Dakota
1989NateEasleyColorado State University
1990JenniferGrandiWeber State University
1991JaneVan DykeRocky Mountain College
1992ReneStregeUniversity of North Dakota
1993FarahThompsonWeber State University
1994ShereeDeaderickUniversity of Wyoming
1995SusanSchaefferUniversity of Wyoming
1996JudyCowgerUniversity of North Dakota
1997LynnCarlsonASPIRE Training Institute
1998TamiNewtonSouthern Utah University
2000CarmenRiveraColorado State University
2001RuthAnn ShopeMontana Tech
2002JeffreyMarasSouthern Utah University
2003DawnEckhardtUniversity of North Dakota
2004AngelaYoungUtah Valley State College
2005AndreaSchneiderUniversity of South Dakota
2006DennisStanglUniversity of North Dakota
2007BarbaraWatersMontana State – University of Billings
2008TinaHartleyDakota Wesleyan
2009LoriBrown-WirthUniversity of Wyoming
2010CaraDavisUniversity of North Dakota
2011RoxanaLunaWeber State University
2012MichelleCarrollLaramie County Community College
2013LucyPaltooColorado State University
2014AngelRuizColorado State University
2015NoraLeinenBlack Hills State University
2016AllyGarciaMetropolitan State, University of Denver
2017AnthonieNicholsUtah State University
2018AlexandriaNordlundUniversity of North Dakota
2019StephanieMoyaCommunity College of Denver
2020SusanaRuvalcabaColorado State University
2021KellyKennedyUniversity of North Dakota
2022DanaWalfordLake Region State College, Devils Lake, ND